Ode to the West Wind

“Ode to the West Wind” is a classical poem and considered to be one of the most critically acclaimed poems in the English language [Wikipedia]. It was written by Percy Bysshe Shelley (1792-1822) and can be read here.

Portrait of Percy Bysshe Shelley, painted by Amelia Curran, and photographed by Alfred Clint. I mage is in the public domain.

Portrait of Percy Bysshe Shelley, painted by Amelia Curran, and photographed by Alfred Clint. Image is in the public domain.

Gerard McHugh—a dear friend of mine, a poet, a connoisseur of literary prose, and also particularly talented at setting poetry to music—made a comment to my poem “Evanescent dreams”, which lead me to read “Ode to the West Wind”. Reading this poem literally swept me off my feet, my voice got carried away, audibly so, and ended up getting recorded, here.

WARNING: I was trying to sustain the drama, so my reading may be too staccato, but since I am a novice at this I simply have to dare do it, before it could possibly get better. Any constructive feedback would be appreciated. Please be kind. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Ode to the West Wind

  1. I didn’t find your reading too staccato at all. In fact, I think you did a great job. I’m always a little disappointed when I hear a poem read in a monotone, with little or no change from line to line, and no rhythm. You read with passion and clarity. Excellent.

    • Your comment is a godsend, Chris. I have invited critical feedback and I have received, other than yours, none really to go on, but I believe I can work on breath control and perhaps on the technicalities of recording (perhaps remove the echo, if only I knew how). Subsequent to my recording I did hear some other recordings of reading this poem and that of Sir John Gielgud was also staccato (and rather brilliant), and I do think this poem should be read with passion. I shall give it another go. Thank you, Chris.

Leave a Reply

