To Zephyrus

Photo: With kind permission from Rod Baxter © 2010. COLOURBLINDKID on Flickr.

 

In a field of barley, I see you,
most temperate of winds,
bringer of summer and all of its rain,
combing the fine and fluent hair,
into surging waves of shimmering silk,
ebbing and flowing, …
ebbing and flowing.

With your venerated breath,
the birds’ tiding songs sung are spread,
from bark walls through foliage verdure,
softly eddying on a ledge,
until broken by a hedge,
where vine looking leaves,
have been nibbled to lace.

Lone poppies, blood orange like fire rose,
know each other’s embrace,
only by the delicate touch
of dainty pollen-coated butterfly legs,
and then they fade, each
petal, into a pale shade of peach.

Whereas barley stands side by side,
rubbing shoulders,
only bearing ears,
when whispers …
are exchanged by a wind,
wafting the sweet balm smell of chamomile,
only as gentle as you,
my sapphire rose,
my belovèd
Zeph-y-rus.

Copyright © Quirina Roode-Gutzmer 2012.

17 thoughts on “To Zephyrus

  1. Such great lines here: ‘fine and fluent hair’, ‘vine looking leaves/ have been nibbled to lace’, ‘fire rose’, and the fading of each petal (I like the line break there too). Beautiful – you are a real poet of nature.
    I know there is some strange synchronicity in our thoughts – I was about to take a picture of poppies rising above a barley field yesterday, except the sun wasn’t right for it.

    • Thank you so much, Marina. I am really glad you liked my poem in the detail that you have. And I know exactly what you mean about photographing a barley field. I did so myself, and barley is like a creature … I wanted to capture something dynamic about it. I ended up using an image taken by Rod Baxter here, and none of my own.

  2. I am windswept by your beautiful words, Quirina ~ such a wonderful personification of Zephyrus. And some synchronicity here, too ~ I’ve been learning to play ‘Fields of gold’: ‘you’ll remember me when the west wind moves among the fields of barley’ 🙂

    • Oh stunning, Peter! I love that song and look forward to hearing your version of it. And next time there is a west wind over a field of barley, I shall remember that song, and I shall remember you. 🙂

  3. Another beautiful poem from your flowing pen, Quirina….this > “Lone poppies, blood orange like fire rose,
    know each other’s embrace,
    only by the delicate touch
    of dainty pollen-coated butterfly legs,
    and then they fade, each
    petal, into a pale shade of peach.” ~ is truly exquisite 🙂 xx

  4. Ooooh, so many beautiful images and feelings summoned up by this beautiful poem Quirina! I love the poppies of course, the wind always touches me and to have painted Zephyrus so softly but so gloriously. Really love this 🙂 xx

    • Oh thank you, Abi. I am glad that you found something glorious in Zephyrus. I think I have my mind in the sky a lot, and hence love the motion or stillness of air. 🙂 xx

  5. Being a great admirer of corn poppy, it was unavoidable that this poem and the wonderful dreamy photo caught my attention 🙂 I love especially the third stanza.
    For me the west wind always carries the longing for the sea, a whisper from the sunset’s magic. Altogether a sentimental summer opening!

  6. Dear Q, how is it possible, I have not read this work of yours until just this morning? I was grumpy when I woke up and just happened to stop by to see if you had a new post. I have done myself a favour because it is impossible to be anything but joyous after reading such beautiful flowing words, each selected with such care. I can feel the breeze on the barley and the lone poppy. So lovely, my friend.

    • Oh dear Jo-Anne, you have put a poppy cherry on top of my day, which started out with my being excruciatingly cynical this morning. I had not slept well. Is that because there is too much day light and because of a new moon? Who knows, but your comment rendered my day as exquisite as a fire rose. Thank you so much. 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

